Google’s Webmaster Tools launched a new feature that enables a user, as a verified site owner, to grant limited access to your site’s data and settings in Webmaster Tools. Of late, Webmaster Tools users made a lot of requests to be granted limited permission for them (users) to view a site’s data in Webmaster Tools devoid of being able to modify all the settings.
Fortunately, their call was heeded; they can exactly do that with Webmaster Tool’s new user administration feature.
How can you do it?
Go to their home page and click the “Manage site” drop-down menu. Upon clicking the “Manage site” drop down, you’ll see the menu option that was previously titled “Add or remove owners” is now “Add or remove users.”
If a user selects the “Add or remove users” menu item, it direct them to the new User administration page where there are able to add or delete up to 100 users and by specifying each user’s access as “Full” or “Restricted.” Users who are added through the User administration page are connected to a particular site.
Jonathan Simon, a Webmaster Trends Analyst, said, “If you become unverified for that site any users that you’ve added will lose their access to that site in Webmaster Tools. Adding or removing verified site owners is still done on the owner verification page that is linked from the User administration page.”
He added, “Granting a user ‘Full’ permission means that they will be able to view all data and take most actions, such as changing site settings or demoting sitelinks. When a user’s permission is set to “Restricted” they will only have access to view most data, and can take some actions such as using Fetch as Googlebot and configuring message forwarding for their account.”
If you want see which features and actions are available for restricted users, full users and site owners, kindly visit the Webmaster Tool’s “Permissions Help Centre article”.